Mignon Fogarty’s Grammar Girl

Does your worst typo top these?

  1. After listening to Grammar Girl today, I have learned to not trust electronic spelling error check. Computers are man-made and no one can depend on it for grammar mistakes. I have also learned to always proof read everything before printing, and posting. Even if, it’s not yourself proofreading it,  make sure that you always get a second eye or else one will end up like the church pamphlet leaving off a certain letter in spelling “Tits” instead of “Titus”. (Grammar Girl Link )
  2. I was surprised by the references section in Grammar Girls podcast, because normally references are one of the most important sections of a resume or volunteer form.  It is just un-known to hear that such errors were made, plus the person who is trying to get a certain job position will look badly according to that error. Then again, it was no surprise because of our generation living a fast-paced life.
  3. In this experience, I want to know more about editing, and how to proof read my work without misreading or getting tired of proofreading it. Sometimes, when you are in a hurry to do a writing assignment, you sometimes forget to proof read it more than once. I will love to learn the fun way of proof reading things with excitement.

4 thoughts on “Mignon Fogarty’s Grammar Girl

  1. I enjoyed reading your blog. I especially liked your first point when you discussed how spell check is not always right. I think that this is an important thing to remember. As college student, I think that I take advantage of spell check too much. I have so many papers and projects that I am quickly trying to get done, that I trust spell check more than I probably should. You stated that you were surprised to hear that people messed up the most important past of resumes. However, like you said, we live in a crazy world, and we are all extremely busy. This just highlights the fact that we need to slow down a little, as we write, and double-check our spelling and grammar. Perhaps slowing down will even allow us to enjoy our writing as well.

  2. Pingback: Blog Comments « Inside the world of Public Relations

  3. I really enjoyed reading your blog about Grammar Girl and typos. I know that I can rely too much on the fact that the computer will take care of any mistakes I make, but often do forget that it is a “man made machine” and it doesn’t always understand what I’m trying to say. I do think it’s an excellent idea to have people proofread your work before handing it in; It is true that we don’t all slow down and take pride in making sure our work is absolutely the best it can be,and I think that’s where we run into mistakes.

  4. Pingback: Blog Comments 4333 « Exploring the World Around

Leave a Reply

